Thursday, September 23, 2010

Tamil Eelam History

Part 1: Important Milestones

Part 2: Jaffna Kingdom
In the previous chapter we looked into important milestones in chronological order about the history of Ceylon. Let us look at them somewhat in detail from now onwards. We learnt that Ceylon gained independence in 1948. Though Ceylon obtained independence from the British, long before that foreign colonial powers had conquered the Jaffna Kingdom comprising the North and East and the Kotte Kingdom in South West, and the Kandyan Kingdom in the Center.

Part 3: Kalinga Magan
We learnt in the last chapter about the arrival of the Portuguese and the capture of the Jaffna Kingdom in 1619. Also we learnt that the Jaffna Kingdom existed for 403 years and the names of the 19 kings who ruled during the same period. For over 200 years the Jaffna Kingdom remained the single most powerful Kingdom in Ceylon. The Jaffna Kings maintained close relationship with South Indian Kingdoms and later with the Portuguese. This we can glean from Sinhala historical books, some Sinhala inscriptions and through Sinhala literary works like Kokila Sandesiya, Paravi Sandesiya, Parakum Paciritha. From the beginning of the 16th Century we can learn the history of the rulers of Jaffna lucidly and someway in detail from Portuguese sources.

Part 4: Ariyachackravathis...

The King of Java by the name Chandrabanu twice invaded Ceylon from Malaya. On both occasions his invasion ended in failure. Later he raised an army from Chola Nadu and Pandiya Nadu and captured territory in North Ceylon ruled by Magan. After consolidating his position he again attacked the Dambedeniya kingdom ruled by Parakramabahu II. Chandrabanu demanded the surrender of Buddha's Tooth relic and the kingship to him failing which he informed Parakramabahu II to be ready for war. According to Chulavamsa Parakramabaku II refused to accede to the demands made by Chandrabanu and was successful in halting the invading Army which had penetrated upto Yapahuva and completely freeing him self from his (Chandrabanu) domination. Yet Chandrabanu's rule covered the Jaffna Peninsula, Vanni in the North and Trincomalee. The place names such as Chavakachcheri, Chavankoddai and Chavakakoddai came into existence as a result of the rule of Chavakas in the 13th century.